February 11th, 2012

Trinity Wrestlers Edge St. X At Regional Meet

Chris Jung

Senior Writer

Trinity Wrestlers Edge St. X At Regional Meet
photo by Chris Jung

Five Shamrocks capture individual weight class championships

No. 3 ranked Trinity High School capped a near wire-to-wire victory at Friday night's Kentucky high school 4th Region wrestling meet, as five Shamrocks won their respective weight class divisions and led Trinity to a second consecutive team regional championship.

Following nearly six hours of seeded brackets and a trio of simultaneous bouts being contested at Atherton High School, the Rocks edged rival St. Xavier by a count of 234 to 229.5 in the final team standings.

Three-time state champion John Fahy defeated St. X's Dominic Lampe to win the 138-pound division. Fahy was joined by Clayton Smith (145), Brent Hitchings (160), Bobby Bryant (195) and Brendan Darrow (220) on the list of Region Four champions.

No. 4 ranked St. Xavier had four wresters win individual weight class titles, but fell just short of overtaking the Shamrocks in the team standings. With five matches to go, the Tigers' Noah Bauer powered his way through injury and apparent diziness to finish his 170-pound bout against Moore's Sam Willbanks. It took a third sudden death overtime period to eventually decide the winner and came after Willbanks escaped Bauer's initial mount to gain the bout-clinching point to win 4-3.

The 160-pound weight class final also created some buzz. Central's No. 2 ranked Omar Jarvis was battling No. 4 Brent Hitchings in a closely contested matchup, which saw Hitchings hang on for a dramatic 4-3 win and Yellowjackets head coach Che Founder ejected after receiving two unsportsmanlike conduct infractions after arguing several calls during the bout.

St. Xavier High School head coach Jim Kraezig was named Region Four Coach of the Year, while Moore's Jesus Rosado was named the region's Outstanding Wrestler of the Year.

Friday's top four finishers from each weight class advance to next week's KHSAA state meet, a two-day event that will be held on Feb. 17-18 at Kentucky Horse Park’s Alltech Arena in Lexington.

106-pound weight class

  • Championship: Davon Adams (Central) def. Danten Rice (Trinity)
  • Third place: Tim Poynter (Moore) def. Michael Beets (St. Xavier)

113-pound weight class

  • Championship: Jason Hall (Moore) def. Steven Matheny (Trinity)
  • Third place: Daniel Segal (Manual) def. Nick Smart (St. Xavier)

120-pound weight class

  • Championship: Jared Lynum (Central) def. Bobby Poynter (Moore)
  • Third place: Max Korfhage (St. Xavier) def. Andrew Segal (Manual)

126-pound weight class

  • Championship: Jesus Rosado (Moore) def. Ian Kahl (Trinity)
  • Third place: Karlan Groves (Central) def. Dylan Vish (St. Xavier)

132-pound weight class

  • Championship: Justin Lampe (St. Xavier) def. Brock Moore (Manual)
  • Third place: Cody Wedd (Trinity) def. Adam Rivera (Moore)

138-pound weight class

  • Championship: John Fahy (Trinity) def. Dominic Lampe (St. Xavier)
  • Third place: Ridley Prewitt (Manual) def. Cristian Salas (Central)

145-pound weight class

  • Championship: Clayton Smith (Trinity) def. Mikey Smith (Moore)
  • Third place: Kody DeSpain (St. Xavier) def. A'asin Brown (Seneca)

152-pound weight class

  • Championship: Max Haddad (St. Xavier) def. Ricky Caicedo (Trinity)
  • Third place: Keith Bray (Moore) def. Ben Humphrey (Manual)

160-pound weight class

  • Championship: Brent Hitchings (Trinity) def. Omar Jarvis (Central)
  • Third place: Brandon Pledger (St. Xavier) def. Kenny Keller (Moore)

170-pound weight class

  • Championship: Sam Willbanks (Moore) def. Noah Bauer (St. Xavier)
  • Third place: Steven Stickrod (Trinity) def. Marlon Torriente (Seneca)

182-pound weight class

  • Championship: Will Tompkins (St. Xavier) def. Justin McDaniel (Moore)
  • Third place: Aaron Dyche (Manual) def. Jordan Miller (Trinity)

195-pound weight class

  • Championship: Bobby Bryant (Trinity) def. Matt May (St. Xavier)
  • Third place: Jake Harris (Manual) def. Cormel Floyd (Central)

220-pound weight class

  • Championship: Brendan Darrow (Trinity) def. Nick Wafzig (St. Xavier)
  • Third place: Daylon Whaley (Moore) def. Chase Cannon (Manual)

285-pound weight class

  • Championship: Shayne Smith (St. Xavier) def. Brandehn Todd (Central)
  • Third place: Jordan Lane (Trinity) def. Bobby Spears (Moore)

Recent Articles