February 28th, 2012

Hobbs Named GLVC Player Of The Year

Staff Report

Hobbs Named GLVC Player Of The Year
photo/graphic from bellarmine.edu

Hobbs, Davenport, Kendle honored by GLVC

from bellarmine.edu

INDIANAPOLIS – The Great Lakes Valley Conference office announced on Tuesday the 2012 All-GLVC men's basketball teams and individual award winners.  Bellarmine senior guard Braydon Hobbs was named the GLVC Player of the Year by a vote by the league's head coaches, while Lewis guard Ryan Jackson was tabbed the GLVC Freshman of the Year and Bellarmine's Scott Davenport and Missouri-St. Louis' Steve Tappmeyer shared the conference's Coach of the Year honor.  In addition, 10 student-athletes made up the GLVC first and second All-Conference teams, while another 10 were featured on the league's inaugural All-Defensive team.

Hobbs, the lone unanimous first-team All-Conference selection, led the voting after finishing the regular season with 13.1 points, 5.7 assists, 1.8 steals and 0.9 blocked shots per game.  His 2.90 assist-to-turnover ratio was tops in the conference and ranked seventh nationally.  The New Albany, Ind., native also rated seventh-best in the nation with a 46.2 3-point field-goal percentage while helping the No. 2 Knights to a 24-2 mark overall.  This is Hobbs' first Player of the Year honor and second major conference award as he was picked as the GLVC Freshman of the Year following the 2008-09 campaign.  Hobbs' top honor marks the second straight for the Knights as Kendle earned the award last year. In fact, Hobbs becomes the fifth Bellarmine Player to be named GLVC Player of the Year with Buddy Cox (1984), Mike Holmes (1988), and Tom Schurfranz (1992) also earning the honor.

Bellarmine's Jeremy Kendle joined Hobbs on the All-GLVC First Team, while Chris Dowe and Luke Sprague both picked up Second Team honors.  Kendle makes the 1st team after averaging 18.8 points a game, which was tops on the Bellarmine team and third overall in the league.  Kendle was voted Player of the Week twice during the regular season.

Dowe makes the 2nd team after ranking among the GLVC's top 15 in nine different statistical categories including scoring (15.9 ppg/11th), rebounding (6.6 rpg/6th) and field goal percentage (59.5%/4th).  Dowe was a third team selection last season.  Sprague, a senior, makes his first appearance on the All-GLVC team.  He is the reigning GLVC Player of the Week and averaged 12 points and 4.7 rebounds a game on the season.

On the heels of his 2010-11 GLVC Coach of the Year honor and 2011 NCAA Division II National Championship, Davenport earned a share of the award this season after his Knights captured the outright GLVC East Division title with a 16-2 mark.  Tappmeyer was honored for the first time by his peers, following an 18-8 regular season and a 13-5 mark in the GLVC West, which was good for the outright divisional title.

Both the 10-member first- and second All-Conference teams, as well as the league's first-ever All-Defensive squad, are balanced evenly between the GLVC East and West with five divisional representatives apiece.  The complete list of 2011-12 honorees is below.



Player of the Year:  Braydon Hobbs, Bellarmine

Freshman of the Year:  Ryan Jackson, Lewis

Co-Coach of the Year:  Scott Davenport, Bellarmine & Steve Tappmeyer, Missouri-St. Louis


2011-12 Men's First-Team All-Conference

BRAYDON HOBBS, Bellarmine, Sr., G

Jeremy Kendle, Bellarmine, Jr., G

Alex Hall, Drury, Jr., G

Michael Fakuade, Ill. Springfield, Sr., F

Cardnell McFarland, Kentucky Wesleyan, Sr., G

Anthony Young, Kentucky Wesleyan, Sr., C

Troy Long, Missouri-St. Louis, Sr., G

Justin Brock, Quincy, Sr., F/C

Brandon Hogg, Southern Indiana, Sr., G

Nick Larson, William Jewell, Sr., C


2011-12 Men's Second-Team All-Conference

Chris Dowe, Bellarmine, Jr., G

Luke Sprague, Bellarmine, Sr., F

Brandon Lockhart, Drury, Jr., G

Jermaine Love-Roberts, Ill. Springfield, Sr., G

Adrian Moss, Indianapolis, Sr., G

Chris McClellan, Lewis, Sr., G

Josh McCoy, Missouri-St. Louis, Jr., G

Charlie Woods, Missouri-St. Louis, Jr., F

Ethan Faulkner, Northern Kentucky, Jr., G

Courtney Belger, Quincy, Sr., G


2011-12 Men's All-Defensive Team

Braydon Hobbs, Bellarmine, Sr., G

West Dawson, Ill. Springfield , Jr., F

Michael Fakuade, Ill. Springfield, Sr., F

Brandon Johnson, Kentucky Wesleyan, Sr., G

Marty Strus, Lewis, Sr., C

Carlton Westbrook, Missouri S&T, Sr., G

Justin Hightower, Missouri-St. Louis, Sr., G

DeAndre Nealy, Northern Kentucky, Sr., C

Courtney Belger, Quincy, Sr., G

Kenyon Smith, Southern Indiana, Jr., G


Recent Articles