June 15th, 2017

Several LCSN players to play in East/West all-star game

Block_screenshot 2018-10-06 at 2

Conor Revell

Managing Editor

Several LCSN players to play in East/West all-star game
Sacred Heart star Grace Berger was a force to be reckoned with during the season / photo by Mark Sims

Several LCSN basketball stars will play in the Kentucky High School Coaches Association East/West Junior All-Star Basketball Games this Saturday at Bellarmine University. The girls game will start at 6 p.m. and the boys game will be at 8 p.m. Tickets are $5.

The west all-star team will feature players from the Fifth and Sixth Region while the east team will have players from the Seventh and Eighth Regions.

Mercy star Danielle Feldkamp and Holy Cross star Halle Snyder will represent the west girls team. Feldkamp averaged 10.5 points and 7.9 rebounds per game and helped the Jaguars advance to the Sixth Region semifinals. Snyder averaged 15.2 points and 5.8 rebounds per game and guided the Cougars to their first 21st District title since 2013.

Sacred Heart stars Grace Berger and Kiki Samsel and Presentation star Courtney Jackson will play for the east girls team. Berger averaged 14.4 points and 8.6 rebounds per game while Samsel averaged 12.2 points and hit 84 of 182 (46.2 percent) three pointers. The dynamic duo led the Valkyries to their first Seventh Region title since 2014.

Jackson averaged 10.6 points and 5.4 rebounds per game and helped the Toppers win their third straight All “A” Classic Sixth Region title.

Holy Cross star Ethan Driskell will play for the boys west team and averaged 6.9 points and 7.1 rebounds per game.  

St. Xavier star Pierce Kiesler will plays for the boys east team and averaged 16.6 points and 5.7 rebounds per game as will his teammate Will Crum who averaged 3.9 points and 2.9 rebounds per game. 

Here’s a look at the teams:


* West (Fifth and Sixth regions) – Marly Walls (Nelson County), Rayven Peebles (John Hardin), Presley Brown (LaRue County), E’Lona White (John Hardin), Tanisia Murphy (Elizabethtown), Loren Seely (Nelson County), Danielle Feldkamp (Mercy), Jamari Tillman (Doss), Molly Lockhart (Butler), Halle Snyder (Holy Cross), Alexis Smith (Fern Creek), Hailey Free (North Bullitt). Coaches – Kelly Wood (Nelson County), Jacqueline Coleman (Nelson County), Shanda Miller (Fern Creek).

* East (Seventh and Eighth regions) – Grace Berger (Sacred Heart), Kiki Samsel (Sacred Heart), Bri Mishler (Eastern), Jaela Johnson (Manual), Aniah Griffin (Manual), Courtney Jackson (Presentation), Shelby Harmeyer (Simon Kenton), Bailee Harney (Simon Kenton), Ally Niece (Simon Kenton), Lauren Lambdin (Spencer County), Rachel Lehkamp (Walton-Verona), Chelsea Stephens (Spencer County). Coaches – David Jackson (Presentation), Clay Birdwhistell (Anderson County).


* West (Fifth and Sixth regions) – Shane King (Larue County), Austin Ellis (Taylor County), Darius Harding (Elizabethtown), Mickey Pearson (John Hardin), Anthony Witherspoon (John Hardin), Lezra Means (Marion County), Ahmad Price (Fern Creek), Clint Wickliffe (Fern Creek), Tony Rogers (Fern Creek), Luke Ezell (Bullitt East), Stephon Franklin (Doss), Ethan Driskell (Holy Cross). Coaches – Maze Stallworth (Taylor County), James Schooler (Fern Creek).

* East (Seventh and Eighth regions) – Pierce Kiesler (St. Xavier), Will Crum (St. Xavier), Solomon Mathis (Kentucky Country Day), Cedric Cosby (Kentucky Country Day), Ben Simic (Waggener), Joseph Steier (Christian Academy), Devin Young (South Oldham), Jackson Gibson (Oldham County), Zach Kelch (Simon Kenton), Zach Larimore (Oldham County), Nick Fort (Collins), Justin Rose (North Oldham). Coaches – Chad Carr (Christian Academy), Rob Burton (North Oldham).


Recent Articles