April 5th, 2018

All-Catholic boys' basketball team

Block_screenshot 2018-10-06 at 2

Conor Revell

Managing Editor

All-Catholic boys' basketball team
Trinity won the Seventh Region title / photo by Conor Revell

The Louisville Catholic Sports Network All-Catholic Teams recognizes student-athletes who played at the top level during the regular and postseasons within their sport. The players are selected based on nominations from local coaches and the LCSN staff that covered the teams during the 2017-18 season.

It was another great year for our LCSN boys’ basketball teams as Trinity led the way finishing the season with a 30-4 record and lost to Scott County in the opening round of the Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys Sweet Sixteen® Basketball Tournament.

St. Xavier made it to the Seventh Region semifinals while DeSales and Holy Cross both finished with winning records despite not making it to the Sixth Region Tournament.

Trinity’s Jay Scrubb was named LCSN Player of the Year. The senior averaged 17.8 points and 7.1 rebounds per game, both team highs.

Scrubb shot 218 of 429 (50.8 percent) from the field including 56 of 155 (36.1 percent) from three-point land.

DeSales’ Sam Weining (20.0 points and 5.2 rebounds), St. Xavier’s Pierce Kiesler (18.4 points and 7.7 rebounds) and James Taylor (11.7 points), and Trinity’s David Johnson (13.9 points and 5.8 rebounds) and Justin Powell (11.4 points and 4.2 rebounds) were named to the first team.

Player of the Year

  • Jay Scrubb (Trinity)

First Team (alphabetical order)

  • Pierce Kiesler (St. Xavier)
  • David Johnson (Trinity)
  • Justin Powell (Trinity)
  • James Taylor (St. Xavier)
  • Sam Weining (DeSales)

Second Team (alphabetical order)

  • Keegan Brewer (DeSales)
  • Cade Crawley (Holy Cross)
  • Ethan Driskell (Holy Cross)
  • Jamil Hardaway (Trinity)
  • Cameron McDonogh (St. Xavier) 

Recent Articles