June 27th, 2018

All-Catholic Baseball Team

Block_screenshot 2018-10-06 at 2

Conor Revell

Managing Editor

All-Catholic Baseball Team
Trey Sweeney / file photo

The Louisville Catholic Sports Network All-Catholic Teams recognizes student-athletes who played at the top level during the regular and postseasons within their sport. The players are selected based on nominations from local coaches and the LCSN staff that covered the teams during the 2017-18 season.

It was another spectacular baseball season for the four LCSN teams culminating with St. Xavier finishing the season with a 34-2 record, taking home the Seventh Region title, and winning their third state title in five years.

Trinity went 28-7; spent most of the year ranked in the top 10, but was stunned by Ballard in the opening round of the Seventh Region Tournament.

DeSales finished the season with a 17-16 record and saw their season end with a loss to North Bullitt in the opening round of the Sixth Region Tournament.

Holy Cross had a 19-13 record, went to the All “A” Classic Baseball State Tournament quarterfinals, and saw their season end with a 5-3 loss to Fairdale in the 21st District semifinals.

Player of the Year

Trey Sweeney (St. Xavier)  


A.J. Arnold (Trinity)

Brycen Harkins (St. Xavier)

Andrew Littlefield (St. Xavier)

Sam Newkirk (DeSales)

Ryan Nicholson (St. Xavier)

Garrett Matthews (DeSales)

Ben Metzinger (Trinity)

Austin Streble (Holy Cross)


Dylan Byerly (Trinity)

Wes Clark (Holy Cross)

Gavin Foushee (Holy Cross)

Daylen Lile (Trinity)

Aric Lyons (St. Xavier)

Nick Parrish (Trinity)

Cam Scheler (St. Xavier)

Jayden Scroggins (DeSales)

Drew Smith (DeSales)

Josh Thomson (Holy Cross) 


Recent Articles