June 28th, 2018

All-Catholic Softball Team

Block_screenshot 2018-10-06 at 2

Conor Revell

Managing Editor

All-Catholic Softball Team
Braxton Downs is one of Assumption's top hitters / photo provided by the Downs family

Tea Station Asian Bristo is proud to sponsor our softball coverage. You can visit Tea Station Asian Bristo for the finest Asian food at 9422 Norton Commons Boulevard, 40059. Their hours are 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. seven days a week.

The Louisville Catholic Sports Network All-Catholic Teams recognizes student-athletes who played at the top level during the regular and postseasons within their sport. The players are selected based on nominations from local coaches and the LCSN staff that covered the teams during the 2017-18 season.

For the first time since the 2011 season, not one Catholic softball team was able to win their region, and make it to Owensboro for the state tournament. Nonetheless, it was still a banner year.

Assumption went 22-13 this past season and advanced to the Seventh Region championship game for the first time in three years where they lost 4-2 to Ballard.

Holy Cross had a historic year, finishing with a school best 30-9 record, winning their fourth straight All “A” Classic Statewide Softball title, made it to the Sixth Region semifinals losing 4-2 to archrival Mercy.

Mercy went 22-8, won the second consecutive 24th District championship, and made it to the Sixth Region title game losing 1-0 to Butler on a walk-off hit in the bottom of the seventh inning.

Presentation had a historic year winning their first 25th District championship in 13 years, had a 14-15 record, and lost 9-1 to Assumption in the opening round of the Seventh Region Tournament.

Sacred Heart battled injuries the entire season and posted a 5-18 record, was runner-up in the 27th District, and lost to Male 15-0 in the opening round of the Seventh Region Tournament.

Player of the Year

Braxton Downs (Assumption) – Hit .456 with 12 home runs and 52 RBIs.  

First Team

Maddi Gailor (Holy Cross)

Carson Goatley (Holy Cross)

Ryan Ann Hobbs (Mercy)

Nicole Kuchma (Presentation)

Maggie Metzger (Assumption)

Lexi Ray (Mercy)

Jordan Ridge (Assumption)

Bella Velez (Holy Cross)

Lexy Wright (Mercy)

Second Team

Lili Cortese (Presentation)

Natalie Fichter (Sacred Heart)

Courtney Jackson (Presentation)

Taylor McGowan (Mercy)

Madeline Meagher (Presentation)

Jessica Smith (Sacred Heart)

Maranda Thomas (Assumption)

Dakota Young (Holy Cross)

Sydney Young (Assumption) 


Recent Articles