August 17th, 2014

St. X's green team wins KIT, THS and X's gold team ties for 2nd

Block_screenshot 2018-10-06 at 2

Conor Revell

Staff Writer

St. X's green team wins KIT, THS and X's gold team ties for 2nd
James Inman from Trinity (other attached pic) tied for the individual title but lost in a three way playoff / photo by Tim Porco

Many have expected the St. Xavier and Trinity golf teams to dominated the local scene That exactly the case at the KIT this Saturday at Nevel Meade.

St. Xavier’s green team won the event with a 298. Trinity and St. Xavier’s golf team tied for second place. The Tigers took sole possession of second place since Trinity’s fifth score was lower than St. X’s.

Trinity’s James Inman had an impressive performance and shot a 70. Inman lost in a three hole playoff to West Jessamine’s Connor Haas and Franklin County’s C.J. Jones.  Jones won the three hole playoff to take home the title.

Mattingly of Trinity came in fourth with a 72 score as did St. X’s Jack Berger who led the way for the Tigers who have been runners up in the state tournament the past two years.

TeamsSt. Xavier Green 298, Trinity 299, St. X Gold 299, Ryle 300, McCracken County 300, Franklin County 301, North Oldham 303, Lexington Christian 305, West Jessamine 309, Covington Catholic 310, Lexington Catholic 311, Scott County 311, Elizabethtown 316, Greenwood 320, Ballard 322, Bowling Green 323, Christian Academy 324, Madison Central 324, Kentucky Country Day 328, Collegiate 356.

Individual leaders (x-Won three-man playoff on second hole; y-runner-up in playoff): 69 – x-C.J. Jones, Franklin County; y-Connor Haas, West Jessamine; James Inman, Trinity; 70 – Jacob Poore, Ryle; 71 – Justin Baker, Lex. Catholic; 72 – Zach Mattingly, Trinity; Jack Berger, St. X Gold; 73 – Kyle Jury, E’town; Corey Damron, Scott County; Austin Squires, Ryle; Matt Liston, St. X; 74 – Tanner Wilson, Lex. Christian; Drew Kiehl, St. X; Peter Brown, St. X Gold; Sean Warren, McCracken County; 75 – Chase Korte, McCracken County; Gresham Wilson, Lex. Christian; Josh Maier, North Oldham, Avery Edwards, McCracken County; Jimmy Deitz, Cov. Catholic; Jacob Cook, Franklin County; Billy Basham, St. X; 76 – Spencer Carrico, Lex. Catholic; Drake Stepter, McCracken County; Jay Kirchdorfer, St. X Gold; Tyler Reller, North Oldham; Michael Sass, St. X; Michael Vissing, North Oldham; Mason Lenhart, North Oldham.


Recent Articles